How to Become An Author – Or at Least a Better Writer

Being An Only Elgon

WARNING – this is not a ‘how to’. It merely contains thoughts and observations from direct experience.

If you’re like me you have wanted to be a writer for all your life. You have let a lot of other things get in the way – like life, for example, but always the inclination to write has been there.

There was a time in the early 1980’s when I tried to run away from being a writer. I threw away all my accumulated drafts and journals – a journal is a diary by another name because no self respecting writer will admit to keeping a diary – and I dedicated my time and energies to doing something practical for once in my life. It came with the territory, I suppose. I was studying business administration at the time.

The reason I gave up (or at least deferred) my dream was actually…

View original post 1,352 more words

Leave a Reply

