Geek Week Special: Twenty Years On A Computer – Part 1

Being An Only Elgon

As a computer geek I have officially proclaimed this a Geek Week and as such I’ll be posting a nostalgic story about my evolution with personal computers. Some may find the references to older hardware quaint. Others may empathize with my quest for knowledge as I recount going from computer novice to computer guru. But I think anyone who has ever used a personal computer will be able to relate to a lot of this.

Actually, it was twenty and a half years ago that I started to use a personal computer. It’s just that except for playing solitaire most of the time I sat t my desk staring at the Windows 3.1 screen filled with icons wondering why I ever paid $1600 for a machine that substituted for a deck of cards.

I worked in retail management, so I didn’t have a lot of free time anyway. The computer…

View original post 1,726 more words

Leave a Reply

