How Not To Fail at Retail

Being An Only Elgon

I’ve spent most of my adult life working in retail, most of that time in management. It’s not a career I would recommend to anyone but if you like talking to the general public and having a career where no two days are alike, usually busy and at times you feel like a plate juggler with sixteen plats spinning and half of them wobbling, then it’s the right career for you.

I bring that up because over the course of working in retail I attended a lot of training seminars on selling techniques, motivation, leadership and even something called training the trainer. The last was intended, of course, to train me to return to my store and train everyone else. A recurring theme join all of the training I received was How to Succeed. Isn’t that really what we would all like to know? What’s the secret? What are the…

View original post 1,439 more words

Leave a Reply

