Realism in Character Development and Storytelling

Being An Only Elgon

blankbook

Way back somewhere and some-when I had a teacher named Kristin, though I didn’t call her by her first name until a few years later. We didn’t hit it off well, but after nearly four full school years of fairly close association, whether she was my English teacher or my faculty advisor for the school newspaper, we eventually reached a point of mutual respect. At some point I told her I wanted to be a writer when I grew up, not realizing that the whole point of becoming a writer is to never needing to grow up. I asked for her advice and with pity in her eyes she told me if I develop characters that feel real people to the reader then I might succeed.

A lot of time was spent in college pursuing secrets insights. In the process I worked on writing, attempting to find an author’s voice…

View original post 1,303 more words

Leave a Reply

