My Years at the Home(less) Depot

Being An Only Elgon

dad.01

My kids and I used to joke a bit when I worked for a certain major home improvements retailer. We called it Homeless Depot because it seemed I was almost never home. What time I could spend with my kids was tempered because I was usually exhausted from the strain I was putting on my body. I was a lot younger then, otherwise I would have never survived the 65 to 70 hours per week (on average). Retail management can be like that, not that it makes it right for anyone having to endure it.

For a while the rewards were there, though. I got stock options and performance bonuses as incentives to continue working the crazy hours. There was a stretch of time what I worked between 90 and 110 hours a week while converting an older store to a new system for receiving and handling merchandise. I was…

View original post 878 more words

Leave a Reply

